Simple Count Get the app
Checked against the App Store, 17 October 2026

Best countdown widget apps for iPhone (2026)

Most countdown apps are free to download. The differences are in what's free after that: the widgets, ads, and whether you end up paying monthly. Here are seven popular ones side by side.

We make Simple Count, one of the apps below, so read this with that in mind. To keep it fair, every fact about the other apps comes from their own App Store listing (US store), checked on 17 October 2026, and we say where each one is better than ours. Prices change; tap through to the App Store before you buy. Something wrong? Email simplecountdownapp@gmail.com and we'll fix it.

Quick answer

  • Free widgets, no ads, no subscription: Simple Count. Every Home Screen, Lock Screen and Apple Watch widget is free, and the only paid option is a $4.99 one-time unlock.
  • Apple Watch: Simple Count (free: watch face complications, Smart Stack and a watch app), Countdown (Find Appiness) or Countdown Star.
  • Couples with a shared chat: Outside. Its free plan includes sharing and widgets; chat and recurring events are in its Pro subscription.
  • Designing the widget itself (styles, fonts): Countdown Buddy, with 11 widget styles; the free version includes one basic widget.
  • The biggest, most-reviewed apps: Countdown Star (216,000+ ratings) and Countdown by Find Appiness (188,000+ ratings).

Side by side

Swipe the table sideways to see every column →

AppHome Screen widgetsLock Screen widgetsAds SubscriptionPaid options (US)Apple Watch
Simple Count Free, every size Free None No Pro $4.99 one-time (photos, unlimited sharing) Free: watch face, Smart Stack, app
Countdown (Find Appiness) Premium Premium Yes, removed by the unlock No $6.99 one-time: "Unlock widget and remove ads forever" Yes
Countdown Star Small, medium, large Not listed Yes in the free version No Remove Ads purchase, or the separate ad-free app ($1.99) Yes
Countdown Buddy 1 basic widget free Yes Not stated Not stated Countdown + $3.59 Not listed
Outside Free Free (also StandBy) Not stated Yes (Pro) Pro: $2.99–$6.99 a month or $12.49–$44.49 a year Not listed
Days Yes Yes Not stated Yes $0.99–$1.99 a month, $2.99–$5.99 a year, or lifetime $12.99–$14.99 Not listed
TimeCount Yes Not listed Not stated Yes $3.99 a month, $13.99–$19.99 a year, or "Premium Forever" $34.99–$44.99 Not listed

Price ranges are the different in-app purchase tiers each listing shows on the US App Store. "Not listed" / "Not stated" means the App Store listing doesn't say, not that the app lacks it. Checked 17 October 2026; Simple Count's row updated 18 October 2026 for version 2.5.0 (Apple Watch).

The apps, one by one

Simple Count

Caner Tasan (that's us) · App Store
Free
Unlimited countdowns, every Home Screen and Lock Screen widget, Live Activities and Dynamic Island, Apple Watch (watch face complications, Smart Stack, a watch app and a ready-made watch face), repeats, reminders, notes with checklists, iPhone and iPad sync, Siri, one shared countdown that syncs for everyone.
Paid
Pro, $4.99 one-time (€5.99 / £4.99): photo backgrounds, photos and files in notes, unlimited shared countdowns.
Ads / tracking
No ads. Privacy label: Data Not Collected. No account.
Better elsewhere
A young app (launched April 2026) with few ratings so far. No working-days counting or time zones per event.

Countdown

Find Appiness LLC · 188,000+ ratings, 4.8 · App Store
Free
As many events as you like, sharing, Apple Watch, colours, reminders, repeats, count-up, notes, tags, iCloud sync, working-days counting.
Paid
$6.99 one-time "Countdown Widget": Home Screen, Lock Screen and StandBy widgets, calendar auto-import, countdown formats, no ads.
Ads / tracking
Ads in the free version; the privacy label lists data used to track you and third-party advertising.
Better here
Working-days counting, tags, and a very large user base.

Countdown Star

Joseph Merrill · 216,000+ ratings, 4.8 · App Store
Listed
Small, medium and large Home Screen widgets, Apple Watch, iCloud sync, repeating events, celebration animations, time zones, your own photos as wallpapers.
Paid
A Remove Ads purchase, or the separate Countdown Star (Ad-Free) app at $1.99.
Ads / tracking
The free version shows ads.
Better here
Time zone support for each event, and a long track record.

Countdown Buddy

Taptics Ltd. · 26,000+ ratings, 4.6 · App Store
Free
One countdown widget with the basic design, count-up.
Paid
Countdown + at $3.59 (the listing doesn't say what it unlocks).
Better here
Widget design: 11 styles, fonts, photo or preset backgrounds, and weekend exclusion for work deadlines.

Outside: Countdown for Couples

Outside HQ Ltd · 2,700+ ratings, 4.7 · App Store
Free
Creating, sharing and joining countdowns; Home Screen, Lock Screen and StandBy widgets.
Paid
Outside Pro subscription: custom reminders, calendar sync, recurring events, attachments, camera-roll wallpapers, group chat, checklists and more.
Better here
Built around couples and groups, with a chat; StandBy widgets listed.
Worth knowing
Repeating events (birthdays, anniversaries) and custom reminders need the subscription.

Days • Countdown & Widgets

MD Apps LTD · 12,000+ ratings, 4.8 · App Store
Listed
Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets, count-up, recurring events, full-screen event photos, reminders.
Paid
Monthly or yearly plans, or Lifetime Pro ($12.99–$14.99). The listing doesn't say which features are free.
Ads / tracking
The privacy label lists data used to track you.

TimeCount – Countdown & Widget

App Forgeron LLC · 24,000+ ratings, 4.6 · App Store
Listed
Home Screen widgets, unlimited countdowns in its free mode, repeats, reminders, full-screen photos.
Paid
Premium as a subscription ($3.99 a month or $13.99–$19.99 a year) or "Premium Forever" ($34.99–$44.99).
Ads / tracking
The privacy label lists data used to track you.

How to choose

Check what the widget costs. A countdown app is mostly its widget. Before you set up ten events, check whether the Home Screen and Lock Screen widgets are in the free version or behind a paywall.

One-time or monthly? A countdown app doesn't run servers for most of what it does. A one-time unlock (like Simple Count's or Countdown's) usually costs less over a year than a subscription.

Read the privacy label. It's on every App Store page, under App Privacy. "Data Used to Track You" means data is shared for tracking across other companies' apps and websites.

Sharing that stays in sync. If you count down with someone else, look for shared countdowns that update for everyone (Simple Count, Outside), not just sharing a picture or a copy.

Free widgets. No ads. No subscription.

Simple Count is free on the App Store for iPhone and iPad.

Get Simple Count